Whether it’s been with light-hearted love stories, heart-wrenching histories, or gritty thrillers, African writers have provided us with some brilliant books in 2020, all of which have had us saying “just one more chapter”. Here are 20 of the best books from 2020.

Filters Sort results
Title
Descriptions
Price
Quantity
What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours is a lot of things: dreamy, spellbinding, and unlike just about anything you can imagine. It\'s a book that resists comparisons; Oyeyemi\'s talent is as unique as it is formidable. It\'s another masterpiece from an author who seems incapable of writing anything that\'s less than brilliant...
KES 997.00KES 1,898.00
...
KES 1,397.00
A novel of breathtaking sweep and emotional power that traces three hundred years in Ghana and along the way also becomes a truly great American novel. Extraordinary for its exquisite language, its implacable sorrow, its soaring beauty, and for its monumental portrait of the forces that shape families and nations, Homegoing heralds the arrival of a major new voice in contemporary fiction. Two half-sisters, Effia and Esi, are born...
KES 999.00
It starts with a girl. Girls actually. Its only fair that it starts with a girl, no? Only problem is that most stories that start with a girl always end up with someone banging on the door saying; I just want to talk. This is not one of those stories. This one is about Larry. Mad Larry. He drinks. He shags girls. He hates his father. And he looks nothing...
KES 1,397.00
...
KES 1,049.00
He needed to hear Africa speak for itself after a lifetime of hearing Africa spoken about by others Electrifying essays on the history, complexity, diversity of a continent, from the father of modern African literature. Penguin Modern: fifty new books celebrating the pioneering spirit of the iconic Penguin Modern Classics series, with each one offering a concentrated hit of its contemporary, international flavour. Here are authors ranging from Kathy Acker...
KES 799.00
On Black Sisters Street tells the haunting story of four very different women who have left their African homeland for the riches of Europe—and who are thrown together by bad luck and big dreams into a sisterhood that will change their lives. Each night, Sisi, Ama, Efe, and Joyce stand in the windows of Antwerp’s red-light district, promising to make men’s desires come true—if only...
KES 1,457.00
...
KES 2,297.00
Winner of the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best Book Finalist for the Orange Prize for Fiction An Essence Book Club Pick In contemporary Sierra Leone, a devastating civil war has left an entire populace with secrets to keep. In the capital hospital, a gifted young surgeon is plagued by demons that are beginning to threaten his livelihood. Elsewhere in the hospital lies a dying man who was young during the...
KES 1,397.00
THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER! “Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.” –Refinery 29  “Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” –BuzzFeed \"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!\" –Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author of The Belles The most anticipated fantasy of 2021. In this world...
KES 1,597.00
1 2 3
×